top of page

Founding Purpose

Delta Chi Xi Honorary Dance Fraternity, Inc. was founded on April 20, 2010 at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. The organization was established as an Honors Society by three visionaries: Kara Jenelle Wade, Jennifer Renee Cheek, and Kristina Michelle Rogers.


Delta Chi Xi was officially founded by Kara J. Wade and Jennifer R. Cheek as an honors society under the advisory of Professor Robin Gee, and recently transformed into a co-educational dance fraternity. Delta Chi Xi was founded with the purpose to acknowledge academic excellence, serve the community and share the art of dance among fellow students.



    Charter Members

Delta Chi Xi initially began its legacy as an Honors Society with 14 charter members. As our organization continues to grow we hope to establish a

tradition through the love of dance, academics, and service.


1. Jennifer Cheek**           2. Whitleigh Cook*

3. Molly Derrickson            4. Lauren Drake

5. Rebekah Gonzalez*        6. Joy Kelly*

7. Andrea Lalley                  8. Ann Bradey Lewis

9. Margaret Moncure        10. Meredith Shaver

11. Carrie Simpson            12. Kristi Townsend

13. Kara Wade**                14. Ruth Ward



*Charter Officer



    6 POINTE Program


With our commitment to the community and our department, we host workshops, programs, and volunteer our time to assist in any areas of need. We are interested in promoting the arts and opportunities, along with sharing our gifts with others. 


The focus of our organization is explained by our 

6 P.O.I.N.T.E. Program:


P ersonal Health Awareness

O utreach & Service through Dance and Humanities

 I nternational Studies and Programs

N etworking & Career Exploration

T echnique & Professional Training

E ducation of the Arts




Alpha Chapter: University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Greensboro, NC -Chartered April 20, 2010

Faculty Advisor: Professor Robin Gee

Beta Chapter: Morehead State University

Morehead, KY -Chartered November 13, 2011

Faculty Advisor: Professor Natasha L. Davis


Gamma Chapter: The University of Maryland

College Park, MD -Chartered May 8, 2012

Faculty Advisor: Professor Patrik Widrig


Delta Chapter: Coppin State University

Baltimore, MD -Chartered November 4, 2012

Faculty Advisor: Professor Vanessa Coles &                                                    Professor Alice Howes


Epsilon Chapter: Elon University

Elon, NC- Chartered November 24, 2013

Faculty Advisors: Professor Jen Guy-Metcalf &                                                 Professor Jason Aryeh

Eta Chapter: Northern Kentucky University

Highland Heights, KY-Chartered December 9, 2018

Faculty Advisor: Professor Tracey Bonner

Theta Chapter: University of Tampa

Tampa,FL- Chartered May 5, 2019

Falculty Advisor: Professor Susannah LeMarquand



bottom of page